+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Niggles and Aspirin

New Member Percy is an unknown quantity at this point Percy's Avatar

Niggles and Aspirin

Okay, at the risk of opening some floodgates here goes…..

I have been diving on and off since 1978 and currently dive an Inspiration using Trimix and Air to a max so far of 70m using a VR3 conservatively.

I have randomly suffered for years from what divers once called the “Niggles” , minor aches and pains that will be gone the following day. These come and go as they please with no discernable pattern but more often that not are the product of the deeper dives with long deco’s (an hour max) .
    Now … I know that this is a bend so please don’t bother reminding me….. but I would need a season ticket to the pot at Portsmouth if I went to see them every time this happens.

The symptoms are always the same…a tenderness to the skin , like sunburn, across my upper back and shoulders, but without any discolouration. It is always gone within a couple of days and can never be anticipated…sometimes I get it sometimes I don’t.. but this could be because I spent longer or less time at deeper stops…who knows ?

I have a theory that it is caused by blood being prevented from flowing as efficiently through some damaged muscle and tissue in my shoulders, thus leaving gas behind that would otherwise have been removed.

I have spoken to a doctor at the DDRC previously who did not think that it was a DCS and had never heard of anything similar. !! I must be unique... I must tell my girlfriend !!.

Question: Is there anyone else out there who has similar problems and have you identified a way to avoid them ?
    Could taking ˝ and Aspirin, used by Angina sufferers to thin the blood, increase the flow and reduce my chances of a reoccurrence. ?

Cheers