+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 12 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 11 ... LastLast

Thread: My MOD 1 Experience with Darren Fox @ Ocean Legends‏

RBW Member Steverin06 is an unknown quantity at this point Steverin06's Avatar
    Liberty

My MOD 1 Experience with Darren Fox @ Ocean Legends‏

First of all, let me start off by introducing myself. My name is Steve Hendricks and I am a new rebreather diver. I only had about 60 OC dives before I jumped into CCR. I am an F-15C pilot living in Okinawa. Since I operate a single seat fighter in the South China Sea daily, I understand the deadly consequences of not adhering to checklists, and I know how to perform under life-threatening pressure. Even though I am inexperienced, I am not a difficult student to teach - although I do expect a high level of knowledge and performance from my instructors of whom I spend my hard earned money with. I normally don’t have the time or energy to write what you’re about to read, but I am on “baby watch” while my unit is gone so I have a lot of free time. I also feel like I have been wronged so bad and in so many ways, I feel compelled to describe my experience with Darren Fox in painstaking detail on public forums for two reasons. 1 – so this never happens to anyone else. 2 – so Darren might actually apologize to me.

My squadron was TDY to Hawaii last month. I thought it would be an awesome experience to get my feet wet with CCRs in Hawaii and take a MOD 1 class with a rented unit on the weekends. The unit I wanted to try was the Liberty, as after reading the manual I really like how much redundancy the unit offers, among many other things. After a lot of research, I ended up contacting Darren Fox at Ocean Legends in Honolulu as he was one of the very few Liberty instructors in the Pacific. The other one that I know of just happens to be Masayoshi Kondo right here in Okinawa.