+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Rebreather for cinematographer?

RBW Member amundlie is an unknown quantity at this point amundlie's Avatar

Rebreather for cinematographer?

Hi all,

I'm totally inexperienced with rebreathers (apart from reading about them for years), but have now decided to take the plunge. I have been diving since 1982 but not gone tech yet. Excuse my rather lengthy post, but I hope some of you can offer a bit of advice on the following:

I am an underwater cameraman/cinematographer, and my work consists of a mix between filming scenes for feature film and television drama, as well as general filming for various clients: commercial (aquaculture, marine services), educational (aquariums, museums, NGOs a.o.), stock footage etc.

Bubbles are always a problem when filming, namely they get in the way of the lens when shooting upwards (and they shake the camera), the sound/pressure change scares fish (i.e. trigger their lateral line response), and air gets trapped under overhead compartmens and changes the look of underwater sets (you do not want near-perfect mirrors in your shot!). And many times I need to stay for a long time under water to wait for some tiny creature to emerge from its hiding place.
    So, a rebreather would be ideal for many reasons.

I have been watching the Poseidon Discovery for a while, being in the right price range and seemingly covering my needs. Price is an issue here since I may have to buy two units, one for me and one for my camera assistant as well as training for both. Given that the Poseidon is a low-priced and well-functioning rebreather, it would seem to fit the bill nicely. But, the 40 meter limit will be a problem since I do see a need to venture into the 50 - 70m range at some point in the near future.