+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: WTD: Thoughts on advice on which to unit to choose...

RBW Member frank_the_tank is an unknown quantity at this point frank_the_tank's Avatar
    Inspiration Vision

Cool WTD: Thoughts on advice on which to unit to choose...

Hi,

I have been diving open circuit for the last 10 years and have decided to take the plunge and move over to eCCR in Spring/Summer this year.

The decision to go down the eCCR route was the easy part. Deciding which unit is now the difficult bit. I am in no rush and happy to do my research first. My diving is UK wreck diving (not currently trimix) and I am looking to increase depth and run time capability and generally advance my diving. I would rather go CCR than spend money on OC trimix only to then go CCR at a later date.

From initial research (albeit early days and a slightly bewildering task) my thoughts were the JJ CCR or the Sentinel. In honesty, my choices were influenced by the positive things I have read on here, passing conversations with users and both having little chest clutter (this was a big plus for me). I had not considered the Inspo Vision as I was put off by the YBOD stigma as well as the cluttered chest area which just does not look neat. I am in the military and someone told me the Inspo Vision was like a Chieftain Tank to the Sentinels Challenger 2 (apologies to those who this means nothing to)...

So, my choice was 2. However, nothing is ever simple... I have just been offered a 2nd hand Inspo Vision from a trusted friend that would cost me significantly less than a new JJ or Sentinel. I could also do the training throught the military at no cost (not so the other 2).

I would welcome any advice. Clearly the easiest choice is the Inspo as I would save myself a sack load of cash. However, I would hate to spend what is still a considerable amount of cash only to decide I have made a mistake 6months down the line.

Thank you in advance.