+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Oxygen consumption ?

New Member Michel2711 is an unknown quantity at this point Michel2711's Avatar

Oxygen consumption ?

Hi, I am new to CCR and this week end, I was reviewing my past dives on the Evolution to see if my O2 consumption had improved since the first drills (that were quite awful in that respect BTW) . I had written down the O2 tank pressure before / after and as I was doing my calculations, I was wondering what it means to consume "1.5 liter / mn". By that, does one mean "1.5 liter of O2 per mn under 1 ATM "?
    That seems to be the logical answer if the O2 consumption is not to depend on the depth. Can someone explain ?

Thanks,
    Michel

RBW Member mortenkjerulff has a spectacular aura about mortenkjerulff has a spectacular aura about mortenkjerulff has a spectacular aura about mortenkjerulff has a spectacular aura about mortenkjerulff has a spectacular aura about mortenkjerulff has a spectacular aura about mortenkjerulff's Avatar

Re: Oxygen consumption ?

Quote Originally Posted by Michel2711  View Original Post
    Hi, I am new to CCR and this week end, I was reviewing my past dives on the Evolution to see if my O2 consumption had improved since the first drills (that were quite awful in that respect BTW) . I had written down the O2 tank pressure before / after and as I was doing my calculations, I was wondering what it means to consume "1.5 liter / mn". By that, does one mean "1.5 liter of O2 per mn under 1 ATM "?
    That seems to be the logical answer if the O2 consumption is not to depend on the depth. Can someone explain ?

Thanks,
    Michel
    Hi Michel.

Dependent on your diving depth, you will loose more og less oxygen on your accent, as the rebreather will try to maintain setpoint while you purge gas from the expanding loop and the surrounding pressure drops.
    Thus your oxygen consumption seems higher than it really is.