+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Question on eliminating molex splitters in favor of hard connections.

RBW Member mfascuba is an unknown quantity at this point mfascuba's Avatar
    Kiss sidekick

Question on eliminating molex splitters in favor of hard connections.

I have a question on how much is enough and how much is too much. I have a KISS sidekick that has a fisher cable and a narked@90 HUD installed on it. They connect via a molex splitter to the cells. I'm brand new to this rebreather thing, but I'm not new to digging into my own gear to remove failure points. I see the splitters as a failure point, as I had them crap up on my last week (the dreaded "voting failed" message on the Petrel 2). This was traced back to some corrosion on the splitter connections.

So, acknowledging that there needs to be a connector where the wiring connects to each of the cells, and that the molex connectors, while pretty cheesey, are still not too bad to clean up and put back in service if corroded, I am thinking of hard connecting (soldering and heat shrinking over) the connections between the incoming wiring from the two displays, so the only mechanical connections remaining are at the actual sensor connections. I've been soldering small wiring for almost 50 years (my father was an engineer at Bell Laboratories in its golden years), and can control the heat, etc., so I'm not concerned about the quality of the finished solder joints.

My question is this - is there a down side? For example, I'm taking the unit to Truk later this year, and if something craps out I'm at a disadvantage in my ability to fix it. I could bring a set of molex terminals, connector bodies, a crimper, the splitters I have, and a replacement fisher cable, HUD and Petrel 2. Probably overkill, but it would allow me to replace any individual part in the field. Thoughts?