+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Greetings! And your advice on a CCR (APD Inspo) / OC computer please. :-)

RBW Member S L is an unknown quantity at this point S L's Avatar

Greetings! And your advice on a CCR (APD Inspo) / OC computer please. :-)

Good day all,

I'm a newbie in both tech and CCR diving. I travel between Taiwan and South Africa but I do most of my diving in SE Asia, especially the Philippines. I'm looking at buying a new tech computer which could be compatible / connected to an APD Inspiration (XPD) as a backup to the original handset, or work as a standalone if I do OC. I've read good things about Shearwater's Petrel 2, NERD 2, and Heinrichs Weikamp's OSTC's, however I'm not sure which is the best fit especially given the different connectors each supports. I'd therefore really appreciate it if you could kindly share your experience / insight with me.

Many thanks & happy diving~

S L

RBW Member DeathBoxDiving is an unknown quantity at this point DeathBoxDiving's Avatar
    FrankenTitan

Re: Greetings! And your advice on a CCR (APD Inspo) / OC computer please. :-)

Welcome to RBW! I am not familiar with APD units not ever having used one. That said, the SW Petrel 2 Fischer is very easily adapted for use as a backup to any RB unit having a 7-pin male Fischer 103 auxiliary wire that can put out O2 sensor signals to the handset. This assumes that the SW pin out was followed.

Safe diving!

Quote Originally Posted by DeathBoxDiving  View Original Post
    Welcome to RBW! I am not familiar with APD units not ever having used one. That said, the SW Petrel 2 Fischer is very easily adapted for use as a backup to any RB unit having a 7-pin male Fischer 103 auxiliary wire that can put out O2 sensor signals to the handset. This assumes that the SW pin out was followed.

Safe diving!

Thanks very much DeathBoxDiving!