+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: To NERD or not to NERD

RBW Member JonnyQuest is an unknown quantity at this point JonnyQuest's Avatar

To NERD or not to NERD

Hello all,
    I'm hoping the the community can help me with a question on getting a NERD2 for my REVO rebreather or just keeping the Dream5? To give some background, I'm new to rebreathers and I'm gearing up for my upcoming training. I'm planning on doing photography (after training and getting very comfortable with the Revo) and do like the idea of having my "dashboard" in front of me to get a quick glance on my stats while taking picture or even task loaded. My thought is to start out right with the equipment I'm planning on using so that you don't create bad habits as I upgrade. This might not be real reason and it might be just my own crazy idea, but that why I'm asking the questions.

What are the pro's and con's to having a NERD at the very beginning of your training?

Do the NERD really help or is the Dream 5 would be efficient enough?

Is this something that i should wait on to see if there is a real need and not just a cool factor? But you have to admit they are really cool!

Thanks in for your comments in advance.
    Last edited by JonnyQuest; 18th December 2017 at 00:05.

RBW Member ECho is on a distinguished road ECho is on a distinguished road ECho's Avatar
    rEvo Micro FT

Meg

Re: To NERD or not to NERD

Personally, I very much like having then NERD. Admittedly, my rEvo came with it, so I don't have experience with the Dream... but, I cannot recall ever hearing anyone extol the virtues of a Dream...
    Regarding the NERD, it is very nice to have the same information available to me, at a glance, that is there on the controller. Also, if there is ant discrepancy between the controller and the monitor, it is very readily apparent. And, it's nice to have a backup deco computer, without having something else on my other wrist....

HTH