+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Need advice on rebreather for a very unique use

RBW Member BrianHut is an unknown quantity at this point BrianHut's Avatar
    None

Need advice on rebreather for a very unique use

Hello everyone!
    My name is Brian. I am a director and show producer for live shows, mostly theatre, circus and theme park venues.
    I was tasked with coming up with some new ideas for a new aquarium being built. One of my ideas is this...
    Iíve seen lots of mermaid girls that will swim underwater in their fish tail costumes, wave at the audience through the aquarium glass and then quickly go back up for air. This is used in just about every aquarium Iíve ever been in and I think, pretty lame. Also the costumes vary from tacky to just ok.
    I am working with a professional creature studio to produce a highly realistic looking creature costume that can be worn by a scuba diver. Think a cross between a human and an angler fish. Itís very exiting and as far as I can tell, never been done before, at least not that way I am planning.
    My question is this. I know nothing about scuba diving. The company producing the costume is going to work in the smallest tank possible, weíre hoping to get 15min. of breathing time. The idea is to surface after 10 minutes with 5 minutes to spare.
    The bubbles from the scuba setup will be kind of a dead giveaway thereís someone inside the costume and I want to go as realistic as possible. Is there a very small rebreather system that would fit this application? Is this at all a possibility? Is any of this even safe?
    The diver/performer would never go any deeper than about 30ft in the costume as there are no aquariums I know of that are deeper than this.
    Iíll leave it there for now and any thought or comments would be very appreciated. I am planning on getting my scuba certification in the next few months as I will be the one who initially test the costume. Thank you very much everyone