+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Fischer isolation

RBW Member panthalassa is an unknown quantity at this point panthalassa's Avatar
    vision

Fischer isolation

Howdy-

This may already be answered somewhere, but if it is my googling has so far been unsuccessful.

Can anyone explain the isolation circuitry on the Narked-at-90 fischer cable? (specifically the one that comes with this: http://www.narkedat90.com/3_cell_bac...evo_p/0008.htm). Or what it means for a backup fischer cable to be isolated? Is it to prevent current from flowing back into the primary electronics and screwing up the cell readings? Most of the (limited) threads I've seen discuss this in a way that assumes the reader already knows the answer to these questions.

What does it consist of? What is it ultimately meant to do? I have seen posts that say NOT to put all three of your cells on backup. What about the isolation circuitry makes this a bad idea?

I have a decent understanding of electronics but I'm not an engineer (so temper your explanations accordingly, if possible). I've emailed narked but haven't heard back so I figured I'd ask the community.

Thanks!

RBW Member Doomanic is an unknown quantity at this point Doomanic's Avatar
    FrankenClassic (Done. Mostly)

Re: Fischer isolation

I'm interested too, so if you can dumb it down I'd be grateful.

Supporting Member Dsix36 has a reputation beyond repute Dsix36 has a reputation beyond repute Dsix36 has a reputation beyond repute Dsix36 has a reputation beyond repute Dsix36 has a reputation beyond repute Dsix36 has a reputation beyond repute Dsix36 has a reputation beyond repute Dsix36 has a reputation beyond repute Dsix36 has a reputation beyond repute Dsix36 has a reputation beyond repute Dsix36 has a reputation beyond repute Dsix36's Avatar
    rEvo

Defender Optima Dolphin

I will try to answer but other with more functioning brains cells may explain it better.