+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Chain of events: break it!

RBW Member fsardone is an unknown quantity at this point fsardone's Avatar
    APD Inspiration Vision

Chain of events: break it!

I am sharing this to highlight how a simple (stupid?) mistake might severely impact a dive and end up in a quite serious situation.

Yesterday I went to a lake (Lago di Bracciano) near Rome because sea was bad and I wanted to get wet in order to build time on my Inspiration. I am a new driver and while I am a cave, solo, hypoxic trimix diver OC, I am a 10 hour Air-dil deco CCR driver. So off we go.

After building the machine at home, drove to the lake I meet with a group of friends all doing advanced Nitrox final dive for certification except the instructor who is sometime my buddy and let me join the group for the dive. While the instructor is a Megalodon driver, today I am the only one in CCR.

There I calibrate redo my pos and neg pressure tests and happy with it I turn of the electronics and wait for everybody to get ready. After about half hour the instructor asks me if I was willing to do an initial dive to go set the buoy for the deco station setup for the students. I was happy to oblige since this would give me the chance of doing some more than expected and build quality time.

So I put on my drysuit (it is already quite warm out but the lake is 10 C, so being dry with the full protective clothing on is not nice …) and I switch on the reb for donning it. Surprise, surprise, battery1 fails self test. Dive now? The electronics says. I had been tempted to say yes, we were ready to go in the cool water, I have a second battery which can drive the whole thing and the solenoid why not! And I actually say yes (not sure if only to see what would the machine do): the thing switches off!