+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: A list of stupid questions

RBW Member OutOfTest is an unknown quantity at this point OutOfTest's Avatar
    None

A list of stupid questions

So I'm new to rebreathers, never having actually dived one :P

I'm toying with the idea of making a sidemount system, but thinking it may be a good idea to buy a proper unit and get some training before I do this.

So obviously, I need a "real" unit to get training.

I'm toying between two, the Meg and the KISS.

Meg:
    + Electronics, could these reduce task loading?
    + Can be converted to sidemount
    + Radial scrubbers, I like the idea of radial scrubbers
    + OTS counterlungs, less WOB
    - I don't really trust electronics
    - over the shoulder/on the shoulder counter lungs, I prefer streamlined designs
    - Expensive
    - Little data I have found on it so far
    - I have no idea how the electronics work really

KISS:
    + manual, I prefer the idea of KNOWING I have to constantly keep on top of my gas addition.
    + BM Counterlungs (streamlined)
    + Cheaper
    + I've found tonnes of data on the unit
    + I fully understand the unit.
    - Manual, I don't actually know how much this will increase my task loading
    - BM counterlungs, I'm unsure how much this will affect WOB in reality
    - Axial scrubber
    - Cannot be converted to sidemount

Anybody care to chip in on my perceptions so far? Or rip them to shreds?

Ash

PS: Should state, currently, I'm leaning way way way over to the KISS.

RBW Member Capt Morgan is an unknown quantity at this point Capt Morgan's Avatar
    KISS Classic

Re: A list of stupid questions

I bought a KISS a couple of years back having never dived one before hand.
    I had a go on an Inspiration and a rEvo in a pool and from that I knew I wanted
    rear mounted counterlungs.
    I then dived with a lad that had a KISS and I liked its simplicity, at this time I was