+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Hello... with a unique technical question!

RBW Member CephBirk is an unknown quantity at this point CephBirk's Avatar

Hello... with a unique technical question!

Hello all,

I am actually not a rebreather diver (yet!) but I have a question that I expect only people on this forum would be able to answer! I am a scientist at the University of Rhode Island studying the effects of anticipated climate change conditions on squids. As part of my research, I need to remove CO2 from atmospheric air.

If I use a CO2 absorber like this (Grace SodaSorb Carbon Dioxide Absorbents - 4-8 Mesh - Indicating SODA-SORB-HP) how slowly do I need to flow air through these granules in order to get all the CO2 out? I'm thinking about putting the granules in this column: https://secure.drierite.com/catalog3/page5.cfm
    to give you an idea of how the air will be flowing. The air flowing in is normal atmospheric air (~380 ppm CO2) and I need all the CO2 removed before coming out (well at least down to something like 10 ppm or less).
    I'd like to scrub CO2 out of air quickly, but I have no good idea of what kind of gas flow rate ballpark I should be expecting...

If anyone has a ballpark estimate, I would appreciate it greatly!

RBW Member ntokyo is an unknown quantity at this point ntokyo's Avatar
    Copis Hammer Mini

rEvo II mCCR

Re: Hello... with a unique technical question!

Quote Originally Posted by CephBirk  View Original Post
    Hello all,

I am actually not a rebreather diver (yet!) but I have a question that I expect only people on this forum would be able to answer! I am a scientist at the University of Rhode Island studying the effects of anticipated climate change conditions on squids. As part of my research, I need to remove CO2 from atmospheric air.