+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Singapore to Samui July 2013

RBW Member DirtyB is an unknown quantity at this point DirtyB's Avatar
    inspo

Smile Singapore to Samui July 2013

Hi Guys,

I'm still a newbie to this forum but felt i needed to write a short review of the technical liveaboard trip I went on in July with Tech Thailand.

Six of us left from Pongul marina, Singapore, on the 1st of July, first stop was the HMS Repulse.

We spent 3 days diving the Repulse, absolutely love that wreck, before heading off for a day on the Prince of Wales.

Sadly pirates/salvage companies have used a large amount of dynamite to remove all remaining props on these two amazing wrecks. The resulting damage has caused fuel and oil tanks to rupture leaving huge oil slicks on the surface. Also the shock wave has dislodged rivets and panels along the back end of the super structure, opening up large breaks in some places.

Prince of Wales was a little bit deeper and a lot darker. Viz past 60m was VERY green... It was great to see the 14'' guns and the prince of wales writing on the port side.

The next wrecks were all Japanese. The Hatsutaka, the Shiguri and The Tairu. The later two of these wrecks were pretty much un touched with a large amount of china and brass just lying all over the place. Great viz and some interesting currents on the down lines made these dives enjoyable, being testing but also rewarding.

The last of the dives was on the USS Lagarto.