+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Optima wing selection

www.rebreather.com.br zmcave has a spectacular aura about zmcave has a spectacular aura about zmcave has a spectacular aura about zmcave has a spectacular aura about zmcave has a spectacular aura about zmcave's Avatar
    O2ptima / Liberty / Dolphin

Optima wing selection

Hi all,

as I get prepared to take my optima course in a month or so, I am starting to read some stuff on CCRs (in the Bozanic book) and paying attention to optima stuff on the net (mainly in here). I will probably ask several questions in the hope you guys can help me. Sorry if any of them seems stupid, altough I have a lot of experience in OC, I have zero in CCRs.
    My first set of question regarding wings on optimas:

a. what size wings you guys recommend?

b. exhaust valve a good idea? I personnaly changed all my wings to have a plain elbow but, from what I have seen in pictures, there is a lot going on in the divers chest area (RB hoses, counterlungs) and I was thinking that in a situation where you cannot maintain a good trim and use the lower pull to dump valve it would be easier to just pull the corrugated hose rather than elevating the inflator to dump gas.

c. dual bladder / inflators? I have one wing like that (super) and I can't remember the last time I used it. Any advantages in this design with the optima? Also, I dive a dry suit.

d. what about plates? steel, aluminum, or soft?

safe diving,

Zé.

Moderator ScubaDadMiami has much to be proud of ScubaDadMiami has much to be proud of ScubaDadMiami has much to be proud of ScubaDadMiami has much to be proud of ScubaDadMiami has much to be proud of ScubaDadMiami has much to be proud of ScubaDadMiami has much to be proud of ScubaDadMiami has much to be proud of ScubaDadMiami has much to be proud of ScubaDadMiami has much to be proud of ScubaDadMiami has much to be proud of ScubaDadMiami's Avatar

Re: Optima wing selection

Quote Originally Posted by zmcave