+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: rEVO course done

RBW Member JimG is on a distinguished road JimG is on a distinguished road JimG's Avatar
    KISS and rEVO

rEVO course done

I did my rEVO crossover course this week with Dave ******. I have dived a KISS Classic (#115) since 2004 mostly in coastal caves here in Florida for research (I'm a biologist). The crossover course was great fun and Dave is a fantastic instructor. The biggest adjustment for me was that controlling loop volume is a little bit harder on the rEVO than the KISS but I figured it out fairly quickly. It took a few dives to be able to get used to the more sensitive ADV compared to the KISS. I like that it is easier to fire than the KISS ADV, especially when dropping down to depth quickly. It also took a few dives to tune into the solenoid firing as I had never dived a rebreather with a solenoid. I was impressed with the work of breath even standing on my head or swimming face up - almost impossible to do on a KISS. My rEVO is a full size hybrid with RMS, a P dream and Shearwater controller. As I've gotten older and my shoulders have become less flexible it had become extremely difficult (and painful) to reach the KISS tank valve handles while diving, but the rEVO tank valve handles are right where my hands fall naturally to my side - a critical improvement for me.The rig balanced very well. I had always used a Hogarthian one piece harness/back plate on the KISS, and thus greatly appreciated the comfort of the stock rEVO harness. I hadn't ever realized how uncomfortable the old harness was. We did the course at Hudson Grotto near Tampa Florida. The Scuba West shop in Hudson was very cooperative and let us use their pool. Dave ****** was full of great information about everything connected to diving, jet aircraft, car racing, and especially rebreathers.

Jim
    Attached Images