+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Co2 sensor in breathing loop

RBW Member oamr_nagia is an unknown quantity at this point oamr_nagia's Avatar

Co2 sensor in breathing loop

I had a random thought, Has anyone herd of anyone putting a analog Co2 sensor in the breathing loop of any rebreather.

Now i know i am a noob to RBW and to rebreather diving ( i have yet to get trained but i do have a lot of time on OC ) but i cant find any info on a Co2 sensor installed in a breathing loop.
    The way i see it you could use it to check the health of your scrubber mid dive ( given i know you would never push your gear to the max ) but it is another parameter you can keep a eye on

Any thoughts on the idea

Roland Somodi rolanddiver is a glorious beacon of light rolanddiver is a glorious beacon of light rolanddiver is a glorious beacon of light rolanddiver is a glorious beacon of light rolanddiver is a glorious beacon of light rolanddiver is a glorious beacon of light rolanddiver is a glorious beacon of light rolanddiver is a glorious beacon of light rolanddiver is a glorious beacon of light rolanddiver is a glorious beacon of light rolanddiver is a glorious beacon of light rolanddiver's Avatar
    Homebuilt(s)

Inspiration Classic

Re: Co2 sensor in breathing loop

Many people(most like all the CCR divers) thought about it, but the problem lies in the CO2 sensor technology available today. As far as I know most use infrared light absorption to measure the Co2 content. Their measuring properties are being affected by humidity and helium. Many companies have been working on a different technology that would eliminate this problem, but none has yet succeeded. I wouldn't be surpirsed to find out that the military has the required knowledge on hand?! VR technology has a working sensor available for the Sentinel CCR, but I don't know how accurate it is. Sentinel owners know it better. Just my two cents worth..

Very Respectfully

Roland Somodi