+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: who can explain ppo

RBW Member adam0321 is an unknown quantity at this point adam0321's Avatar

who can explain ppo

I am an instructor for the marine corps and teach open thru rebreathers. Well Now I have to teach boyles, gay lusaks, henerys and daltons law. Although I know them and can teach them I am struggling with a way to convey partial pressure and absorbtion to a bunch of young marines. Any thought?

Re: who can explain ppo

You have a blender that at the surface will fit 21 oranges and 79 apples in it. When you blend it up you have juice containing 21% orange and 79% apple. It all mixes together to make the juice.

Now you take that blender 33 feet under water. The blender remains the same volume/size but the apples and oranges squish down to half their size so you can now fit 42 oranges and 158 apples into the same blender. The percentage of juice is still 21% orange and 79% apple but the density is 2 times what it was on the surface. Go to 66 feet the oranges and apples are now a third of their size on the surface so you can now fit 3 times as many in the blender. Percentage of each juice is still the same but the density is now three times as much yet still fits inside the same blender.

Sometimes marshmellows and puff cakes are easier for some people to get their head around the density end of it. I have used both examples in the same class to get understanding from everyone.

The blender is our lungs and will break if pressure is exerted on it from the rising pressure of the juice or marshmellows when we come to the surface so we need to let the contents out as we come up due to the increase in volume.

Hope that helps,

Bobby