+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Scapa Flow Wreck History Week with Kieran Hatton and MV Halton (Bob Anderson)

RBW Member craige is an unknown quantity at this point craige's Avatar

Scapa Flow Wreck History Week with Kieran Hatton and MV Halton (Bob Anderson)

SCAPA FLOW WRECK HISTORY WEEK WITH KIERAN HATTON AND MV HALTON (BOB ANDERSON) 11 TO 17 JULY 10

Although I have been diving for about 15 years I have never been to Scapa. So following seeing an advert and chatting to Kieran Hatton I decided to book on this trip and finally go and see what I had been missing all these years.

The journey was a long one from Plymouth, over 800miles, but doing it in two stages with a stop-off overnight made it reasonable.

The boat we were using was MV Halton. We met the boat in Stromness in the Orkneys. The boat is a 70ft wooden former trawler. It is well equipped for divers with a lift, compressor, kiting up benches, a dry area for putting your dry-suit, along with oxygen and helium. Inside the boat is very comfortable with a galley containing a Rayburn, which keeps the boat very warm, and a large dining and seating area. Cabins are down below and are 2 person cabins that are warm and comfortable. There are two showers and toilets on the boat.

Kieran Hatton was running the Scapa Flow History Week. He is an experienced diver and instructor who previously worked in Scapa for 4 years. He is a real enthusiast when it comes to the wrecks of Scapa Flow and both his passion and extensive knowledge about the German High Seas Fleet was demonstrated throughout the week. The boat is skippered and owned by Bob Anderson who is an experienced skipper and himself a diver.