+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Double Vision!

still learning... gallathan is a glorious beacon of light gallathan is a glorious beacon of light gallathan is a glorious beacon of light gallathan is a glorious beacon of light gallathan is a glorious beacon of light gallathan is a glorious beacon of light gallathan is a glorious beacon of light gallathan is a glorious beacon of light gallathan is a glorious beacon of light gallathan is a glorious beacon of light gallathan is a glorious beacon of light gallathan's Avatar
    Laleham, Middlesex, England, UK

Double Vision!

There have been quite a few threads recently about double rebreathers, streamlining, deep cave bailout, time for sofnolime to be activated etc,
    so I thought I’d post about my attempted solution to some of these issues.

DISCLAIMER: I’m a rank amateur, this solution has worked well for me over several hundred dives, but there are many alternative solutions / I’m sure there are lots of improvements that could be made. One of my motivations for posting is to get some constructive criticism/feedback/ideas for further refinement, so let the posting(s) being

What follows is a bit of an unformatted brain dump, from about a year ago, entitled A little bit of double vision, followed by some more recent thoughts...

A little bit of Double Vision

One of the biggest issue’s with deep diving is carrying enough bailout.
    A way around this is to place ‘stage cylinders’ at various points along route. The downside is that you then have to deliberately do ‘setup dives’ just to place the gas & on a quick diving weekend it makes for a stressful affair especially it something goes wrong on the setup dive. Also tear down dives \ cost of gasses / time to fill, cost of stages regs, O2 cleaning etc, etc. i.e. LOGISTICS ARE A NIGHTMARE.

May Bank Holiday was the turning point for me.