+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Agency choice and helium in 1st CCR class

New Member ameirowi is an unknown quantity at this point ameirowi's Avatar

Agency choice and helium in 1st CCR class

I am a rebreather novice and rebreather world newbie with classic Kiss on order-

I have a fair amount of OC trimix experience and training, and noticed that IANTD's first Kiss class allows use of normoxic mix for dil and the TDI standards don't seem to allow this (I have gone through the TDI manual and it doesn't speak to this point at all). My newbie view is that I will want a fair amount of experience between mod 1 and a mix ccr class but that using normoxic mixes as a dil for dives in the 100-150 ranges while getting the experience and having fun makes a lot of sense. If this is correct the TDI standards seem suboptimal.

Any reactions/corrections to this.

Thanks
    A

Bubbless Box of Death Genesis is a splendid one to behold Genesis is a splendid one to behold Genesis is a splendid one to behold Genesis is a splendid one to behold Genesis is a splendid one to behold Genesis is a splendid one to behold Genesis is a splendid one to behold Genesis is a splendid one to behold Genesis is a splendid one to behold Genesis is a splendid one to behold Genesis is a splendid one to behold Genesis's Avatar

Re: Agency choice and helium in 1st CCR class

IMHO as a gasbag novice as well but with significant deep-diving experience, you're simply nuts NOT to dive with normoxic Trimix originally on a RB.

The ONLY argument for not using Trimix below 80-100' is, in fact, an analysis that has a cost component in it.

With a RB that issue disappears as the cost differential is now literally a buck or two at most.

I believe you've got it right, but that you are being quite kind about using the phrase "sub-optimal"......