+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: A helium in CCR question

RBW Member Mike_Eitel is an unknown quantity at this point Mike_Eitel's Avatar
    MeCCRxWi

MeRAY, MeTravox,MeCCRV"x,Inspi

A helium in CCR question

Hi
    I'm not an expert in He diving. But since longer time I'm wondering the mixture behavior in a closed loop:

a. Lets make it easy and use f.x. 0/50 trimix = 50 N2 & 50% He.
    b. have an perfect CCR, nit loosing any diluent to environment.
    c. now diving to f.x 40m.

As I understand HE is going faster in and out of my body than N2. And in my understanding, this must change the mix in my loop. pp of He will degrade and N2 will have a higher percentage than He.

As my body consumes gas from the loop, finally II have to inject the equal mix diluent…
    It will rise the He part in the loop.

That way I’m loading my body with more He then in OC with the same mix ???

I’m aware that this example might be academic, but I’m wondering if anybody ever tried to measure this in real diving and had a look into the eventual outcome for decompression calculations.

RBW Member trakrat is on a distinguished road trakrat is on a distinguished road trakrat's Avatar
    rEvo

Re: A helium in CCR question

Quote Originally Posted by Mike_Eitel  View Original Post
    Hi
    I'm not an expert in He diving. But since longer time I'm wondering the mixture behavior in a closed loop:

a. Lets make it easy and use f.x. 0/50 trimix = 50 N2 & 50% He.
    b. have an perfect CCR, nit loosing any diluent to environment.
    c. now diving to f.x 40m.

As I understand HE is going faster in and out of my body than N2. And in my understanding, this must change the mix in my loop. pp of He will degrade and N2 will have a higher percentage than He.

As my body consumes gas from the loop, finally II have to inject the equal mix diluent…
    It will rise the He part in the loop.

That way I’m loading my body with more He then in OC with the same mix ???