+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: DAN Europe dive insurance, Are You Covered???

RBW Member dive-junkie is an unknown quantity at this point dive-junkie's Avatar
    Megalodon

Exclamation DAN Europe dive insurance, Are You Covered???

Hi all,

I was just about to renew my dive insurance with DAN Europe, as I'm new to rebreathers I thought I'd check if I was covered and if so what for.

I read the terms and conditions and was a bit unsure of what actually meant.

So, I emailed them to be safe, this is how it went;

.......... I have read the terms of insurance and I’m a little unsure of some of the terminology used, especially the accident coverage section about recreational technical diving.

Basically, will I be covered if my dive plan consists of;
    Diving with a rebreather on mixed gases (trimix, heliox, etc.) to depths upto 130metres (deeper if I gain consent from you prior to the dive) as long as I don’t exceed 1.4ata ppO2 and using oxygen enriched air and 100% oxygen for decompression?

Can I use a ppO2 of 1.6ata for O2 decompression?

Does it cover me for wreck and cave diving?

And the reply............

Hi Colin

DAN insurance plans cover recreational technical diving up to a maximum depth of - 130 mt.[/font]

Basically, you will be covered if your dive plan consists of;
    -Diving with a rebreather on mixed gases (trimix, heliox, etc.) to depths up to 130metres (deeper upon receiving consent from the DAN Claims Office prior to the dive) as long as you don’t exceed 1.4ata ppO2 and 3.95 ATA nitrogen.
    The use of oxygen enriched air or of oxygen for decompression is not considered recreational technical diving.
    Your plan covers also wreck and cave diving.

Please note that the search and recovery benefit is not available in case of cave diving[/font]

Yours sincerely...........

So I asssume using off board cylinders that have anything more than "AIR" in, for deco isn't covered?????

Has anyony else encountered this?