+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Evolution Training in the Northeast

RBW Member Jeffrey C Gershen will become famous soon enough Jeffrey C Gershen will become famous soon enough Jeffrey C Gershen will become famous soon enough Jeffrey C Gershen will become famous soon enough Jeffrey C Gershen's Avatar

Evolution Training in the Northeast

Quite a long time ago I joined Rebreather World. It was my goal to learn about rebreathers and make a reasoned choice as to the right unit for my diving needs. Over a year later, I succeeded in certifying on the Evolution after seven days of both strenuous, humbling, and edifying training.

I am not a rookie; I have been diving for 30 years, and have been doing trimix wreck diving for at least 7. My OC skills have been honed and I have come through some "interesting" experiences and am still here too talk about them and use them to keep me from getting too arrogant. Needless to say, I brought all those skills to my CCR training and suffered mightily as a result. I won't bore you with a long dissertation about bouyancy control problems, etc., about which the posts are replete with anecdotes. Rather I want to talk about something far more important: the quality of the training I received and the quality of the service provided by the manufacturer of the Evolution.

Learning to "fly" a ccr is not difficult, unlearning all of your oc habits is, and it takes a special kind of instructor to guide an old timer like me through the confidence destroying experience. It takes an instructor who has not only mastered his craft but who has the gift of empathy and who knows when to instruct and when to support. It also takes an instructor who can read the student and push when called for and ease off when necessary. And finally, it takes an instructor who is generous in imparting the tricks the instructor has learned and is patient with the bumbling of the newbie.