+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Shallow water RB diving

RBW Member denka is an unknown quantity at this point denka's Avatar

Shallow water RB diving

Hello
    I am new at the game and I am considering a SCR or CCR. The dives I normaly do are in the range of 5 to 25 meters in fresh water. I thougt about going SCR but after looking at the dolfin and the Azimuth I still am not sure. this is because i would like to be total silance underwater and the SCR would not give me that. So I did my research on theKISS, pelagian and R-evo (at boot in Germany) and talk to Paul and his friend. The units all looks nice and seem to fit the bill. But for my dives is it wise to go CCR because i heard off shallow water black-out .

What should the best unit be and what are the criteria of choice

Greatings Dennis (Holland)

Brent - Narked at 90
    divetheworld has a reputation beyond repute divetheworld has a reputation beyond repute divetheworld has a reputation beyond repute divetheworld has a reputation beyond repute divetheworld has a reputation beyond repute divetheworld has a reputation beyond repute divetheworld has a reputation beyond repute divetheworld has a reputation beyond repute divetheworld has a reputation beyond repute divetheworld has a reputation beyond repute divetheworld has a reputation beyond repute divetheworld's Avatar
    Deep Pursuit or a Camelion

and 11 others inc. a UT-240

Re: Shallow water RB divhng

My first thoughts are open circuit.
    you've got to have a very good reason to want to go rebreather at those very shallow depths.
    CCR is no bubbles, SCR is a leaky box so only CCR could give you the reason of no bubbles.

A rebreather is a very efficient tool when used correctly, it has numerous risks that could and has caused fatalities. there is no point increasing your risks unless there is a good reason.

The only good reason that keeps me CCR is the high cost of bulk helium.

Brent