It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register for free click here
Rebreather World
       
Go Back Rebreather World Rebreather & Dive Equipment Marketplace Rebreathers For Sale

Is this an eBay scam?



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30th August 2006, 02:02   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
DarthVern's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Megalodon
Home Build

Other Rebreather/s:
Home Build
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: In a Quarry in PA
Posts: 55
DarthVern is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to DarthVern Send a message via MSN to DarthVern
Is this an eBay scam?

This seems to good to be true - which usually means it is: 320021193714
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2006, 04:11   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
sddiverrob's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
rEvo

Other Rebreather/s:
Inspiration Classic
rEvo
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 90
sddiverrob is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Yahoo to sddiverrob
Re: Is this an eBay scam?

I'd have to say it's a scam. The big red flag is that the seller does not want to use paypal, and wants western union. The scammers always want western union, or some other form of direct payment because paypal requires them to have an account and has some fraud protection.

The other give-aways:

"I will be shipping to United States ONLY" Most of the scammers are based in Europe. The location of the seller is SCUBA, United States, so they are in the US and will only ship TO the US?

The positive member feedback is all for buying not selling, someone got their account hacked.

When I bought my used inspiration I bought it from a member here on rebreatherworld, I was able to look at their post history, how long they had been a member and PM them to determine that he was a legit seller. Unless you know the seller or are holding the item in your hand I'd use paypal.

Rob
__________________
"Tech divers are the same all over the world..."
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2006, 08:41   #3 (permalink)
RBW Member
 
teksimple's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
MK 15.X

Other Rebreather/s:
Sport Kiss
Classic Kiss
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Haifa Street, Baghdad
Posts: 515
teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Is this an eBay scam?

I don't see Western Union payment indicated, just "Money order, Cashiers check or Bank transfer. " I would prefer to do that myself for my upcoming auction of my video housing and camera, as it saves the 3%. Still, I don't get a real warm feeling from the auction. So anyone know this guy?
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2006, 09:57   #4 (permalink)
Póg mo thóin
 
louisrankin's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Megalodon

Other Rebreather/s:
Sport Kiss
Classic Kiss
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 315
louisrankin will become famous soon enough louisrankin will become famous soon enough louisrankin will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to louisrankin
Re: Is this an eBay scam?

This was sold a few months ago on Ebay in the UK so it is defiantly a scam
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2006, 19:55   #5 (permalink)
.
 
jkaterenchuk's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Inspiration Classic
Megalodon
Classic Kiss

Other Rebreather/s:
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lititz, PA
Posts: 1,100
jkaterenchuk is a splendid one to behold jkaterenchuk is a splendid one to behold jkaterenchuk is a splendid one to behold jkaterenchuk is a splendid one to behold jkaterenchuk is a splendid one to behold jkaterenchuk is a splendid one to behold jkaterenchuk is a splendid one to behold jkaterenchuk is a splendid one to behold jkaterenchuk is a splendid one to behold jkaterenchuk is a splendid one to behold jkaterenchuk is a splendid one to behold
Re: Is this an eBay scam?

I emailed a question to the seller 3 days ago asking his location in the US so that I might pick the unit up if I won. No answer. You can draw your own conclussions from this lack of response.
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2006, 01:05   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
nurseling's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Other CCR

Other Rebreather/s:
Other CCR
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: pensacola, FL
Posts: 33
nurseling is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Is this an eBay scam?

Quote: (Originally Posted by jkaterenchuk) View Original Post
I emailed a question to the seller 3 days ago asking his location in the US so that I might pick the unit up if I won. No answer. You can draw your own conclussions from this lack of response.
I sent the same question with no reply.
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2006, 08:01   #7 (permalink)
RBW Member
 
teksimple's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
MK 15.X

Other Rebreather/s:
Sport Kiss
Classic Kiss
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Haifa Street, Baghdad
Posts: 515
teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light teksimple is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Is this an eBay scam?

Cracks me up. I suppose the "winning" $3450.01 bid was from someone on this board?
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2006, 01:42   #8 (permalink)
Maximum ******
 
RebreatherDave's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Inspiration Classic

Other Rebreather/s:
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: L.A., where the debris meets the sea
Posts: 226
RebreatherDave has a spectacular aura about RebreatherDave has a spectacular aura about RebreatherDave has a spectacular aura about RebreatherDave has a spectacular aura about RebreatherDave has a spectacular aura about RebreatherDave has a spectacular aura about
Re: Is this an eBay scam?

Yep.....
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



RebreatherWorld.Com ©2005 - 2008
Rebreather World, RBW and the Rebreather World Logo are Trademarks
All rights reserved, no republishing of content without written permission.
By using this website you have agreed to our Terms & Conditions of Use

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437