| |
![]() | |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Reads the fine print Current Rebreather/s: Megalodon Home Build Other Rebreather/s: Not Bought Yet MK 15.X Home Build Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Posts: 584
| Yet ANOTHER Ebay scam! Geeze, the scumbags are at it again. My dive buddy put his BMR500 up for sale on ebay a month or so ago. It didn’t sell, but you wouldn’t know it. The German scam artists didn’t even change his ad copy. This ebay ad: http://cgi.ebay.com/Closed-Circuit-R...QQcmdZViewItem is 100% bogus. Sending any $$$ to this guy is like sending it to a black hole. Ya’ll be careful out there. Caveat emptor! Ken |
| (Offline) | |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Who loves ya, baby ![]() Current Rebreather/s: | What about the $10 Inspiration? ![]()
__________________ Cheers Stefan "Political Correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.!" |
| (Offline) | |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Team Torrent Current Rebreather/s: Inspiration Classic Megalodon Classic Kiss Other CCR Other Rebreather/s: Other CCR Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: New York City
Posts: 331
| Re: Yet ANOTHER Ebay scam! If you see something fishy contact Ebay directly. Go to the bottom of an Ebay page and fill the forms for Security and Resolution. Ebay acts pretty quickly on it. If the sale period is several days I would suggest having some sick fun while you are at it. Hey, why not amuse yourself? Blast them e-mails. Last year Rob and I had some fun with a live one on the Decostop. The bum had an actual address in Queens NY and the seller was almost willing to show up at a local site to exchange $$$. In the end, the sale was pulled prior to any action. It would have been fun because we had the police on the ready. These things will come and go. As a public service best to just shut them down. Giveaways are: * Zero history * Poor spelling * Multiple pictures of strange crap * Cloned pictures * Money orders, cashier checks, or wire payment * Strange locations * Private bidding My ten dollars. ![]() p.s. sent a note to Ebay about the first listing. Last edited by Ken : 17th January 2006 at 02:06. |
| (Online) | |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| John Routley ![]() ![]() Current Rebreather/s: | Re: Yet ANOTHER Ebay scam! e-bay is not always that fast at removing scams we have found no end rebreather scams, one was showing pictures of a dreager dolphin i know well but with text from an inspo advert. ebay was email several times by different people that it was a scam and didn't pull the add, and i emailed Kerry about his breather and it was not for sale! but people were bidding on the unit???????????????????? a bit of research please people a dolphin is not an inspo!, i rang a load of people and it was planned to have a little fun, i think the bidding started getting out of hand:-) 10.000......up, not to be out done i bid 1,000.000.51 bugger me i won this gives me the right to leave feed back!!!! so i lashed it on! i would at this point like to thank the prankster.....dive the world....for spending so much time compiling a legal email to send to me about transferring money to the scamer in a fast easy way......thanks mate! he got an email back saying what i think of ebay if you ever catch a little twat scamming pass them my way for a dam good !!!!!!!!!!!!john routley Quote: (Originally Posted by Ken) If you see something fishy contact Ebay directly. Go to the bottom of an Ebay page and fill the forms for Security and Resolution. Ebay acts pretty quickly on it. If the sale period is several days I would suggest having some sick fun while you are at it. Hey, why not amuse yourself? Blast them e-mails. Last year Rob and I had some fun with a live one on the Decostop. The bum had an actual address in Queens NY and the seller was almost willing to show up at a local site to exchange $$$. In the end, the sale was pulled prior to any action. It would have been fun because we had the police on the ready. These things will come and go. As a public service best to just shut them down. Giveaways are: * Zero history * Poor spelling * Multiple pictures of strange crap * Cloned pictures * Money orders, cashier checks, or wire payment * Strange locations * Private bidding My ten dollars. ![]() p.s. sent a note to Ebay about the first listing.
__________________ Supporting Shearwater Research Products in Europe |
| (Online) | |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| New Member Current Rebreather/s: Home Build Other Rebreather/s: Home Build Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Washington State USA
Posts: 5
| Re: Yet ANOTHER Ebay scam! All that is true, BUT, about 2 yrs ago I picked up an IDA-72 new condition from a fellow in the Russian Federation, had to use a wire transfer, poor english grammar, etc. Boy was I nervous , but all went well, arrived as promised, in new condition . This just means try and be entirely aware of whom you are dealing with as best as you can.This Just makes it harder for those legitimately selling and easier for those not. |
| (Offline) | |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| RBW Member Current Rebreather/s: Classic Kiss Other Rebreather/s: Inspiration Classic Join Date: Jan 2005 Location: Kent
Posts: 2,868
| Re: Make that two Quote: (Originally Posted by caveseeker7) What about the $10 Inspiration? ![]() Is this a scam?? It would have fooled me with all the serial numbers an acurate details in the text. I remember reading this was a very old unit but i wasent aware it was a dodgy one? Mind you i would have checked with AP on the SN's before I went ahead. ATB Mark Chase
__________________ See my "Doing It Chasey" video where I'm locked into a padded room, naked, with two ball bearings and within an Hour, I manage to lose one and break the other!!! Kevin Juergensen 16/11/08 [/quote] |
| (Offline) | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| New member ![]() Current Rebreather/s: | Re: Yet ANOTHER Ebay scam! Quote: (Originally Posted by narked at 90) e-bay is not always that fast at removing scams I have a set search for certain Kirby Morgan items and they seem to be a big scammer target at the moment. At least half of the 'finds' are already pulled before I get to see them and half again I recognise the pictures.
__________________ nigelh |
| (Offline) | |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| RBW Member Current Rebreather/s: | Re: Make that two Quote: (Originally Posted by Mark Chase) Is this a scam?? It would have fooled me with all the serial numbers an acurate details in the text. I remember reading this was a very old unit but i wasent aware it was a dodgy one? Mind you i would have checked with AP on the SN's before I went ahead. Yeah but even if it's old it's strange that he started it at only $10. And he also has a 0 rating.ATB Mark Chase |
| (Offline) | |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| New Member Current Rebreather/s: Not Bought Yet Other Rebreather/s: Not Bought Yet Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: NC. USA
Posts: 21
| Re: Yet ANOTHER Ebay scam! The Inspo looks like a scam. That is the third time I have seen it on ebay and the third location once in the UK and twice in the US. The listing is an exact copy of the first one. Skipbreather Does your buddy still want to sell his BMR500? Will he come down on his price? For what he listed it for I could just save some more pennies and buy an o2ptima. ![]() |
| (Online) | |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| Team Torrent Current Rebreather/s: Inspiration Classic Megalodon Classic Kiss Other CCR Other Rebreather/s: Other CCR Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: New York City
Posts: 331
| Re: Yet ANOTHER Ebay scam! Quote: (Originally Posted by hyrax) The Inspo looks like a scam. That is the third time I have seen it on ebay and the third location once in the UK and twice in the US. The listing is an exact copy of the first one. Skipbreather Does your buddy still want to sell his BMR500? Will he come down on his price? For what he listed it for I could just save some more pennies and buy an o2ptima. ![]() The sale of this particular item is now up to 75,000.00 dollars!!! As per Inspirations in the US in 99' there were very, very, very few of them. Training and purchase had to be conducted outside the USA. I only knew of one individual in 99 who had gotten training and purchased a unit. |
| (Online) | |