It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register for free click here
Rebreather World
       
Go Back Rebreather World Rebreather & Dive Equipment Marketplace ebay Rebreather Scam alerts

Is this legitimate - sounds like a scam



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19th January 2007, 18:11   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Jim Culter's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Inspiration Classic

Other Rebreather/s:
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 31
Jim Culter is an unknown quantity at this point
Is this legitimate - sounds like a scam

Can anyone in Spain verify this company exists?

Ebay list for AP Evolution Rebreather (180076383061)
bidders are hidden
Quoted me a shipping price from Spain of $68 to Florida with insurance, sounds too cheap.
Add states item is located in Chicago.

Shipping from spain by
VINTAGE SALES
e-sales@vintage-sales.org
www.vintage-sales.org
Calle Basia Blanca No 12 1A,
11002 Cadiz,
SPAIN
Phone/Fax: 0034 610938112

Jim
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2007, 19:04   #2 (permalink)
Fighting Girl
 
abowie's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Sport Kiss

Other Rebreather/s:
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Land of Oz
Posts: 574
abowie is a name known to allabowie is a name known to allabowie is a name known to allabowie is a name known to allabowie is a name known to allabowie is a name known to allabowie is a name known to allabowie is a name known to allabowie is a name known to allabowie is a name known to allabowie is a name known to all
Re: Is this legitimate - sounds like a scam

Things that look dodgy are zero feedback, private listing, no trackable payment method offered, no explanation why they're in the US but item is in Spain. $68 for postage for a 30kg item is unbelievably cheap. Should be several hundred dollars in my experience.

Try asking them for the unit's service history if it has one and the unit ID numbers, then ring AP and ask them about the unit.

It's possible that it's genuine but it smells fishy to me.
__________________
Andrew Bowie

Rebreather-friendly Buddy

Last edited by abowie : 19th January 2007 at 19:07.
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2007, 19:24   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Micronics's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Other CCR
Ray
Other SCR

Other Rebreather/s:
Other CCR
Ray
Other SCR
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bennekom, NL
Posts: 18
Micronics is an unknown quantity at this point
Thumbs down Re: Is this legitimate - sounds like a scam

I beleive if the unit is actully in spain, it should be listed on the eBay page. If he's not following the rules, hiding bids and doesn't accept trackable payments i'd advice not to do business with him.
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2007, 02:05   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
sddiverrob's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
rEvo

Other Rebreather/s:
Inspiration Classic
rEvo
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 87
sddiverrob is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Yahoo to sddiverrob
Re: Is this legitimate - sounds like a scam

Item location is in Chicago per the ebay page but will ship from Europe? Also check out the payment options, shady payment options such as money order only and no paypal always raise red flags for me.

Rob
__________________
"Tech divers are the same all over the world..."
(Online)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2007, 03:29   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
empressdiver's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Other SCR

Other Rebreather/s:
Other SCR
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 39
empressdiver is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Is this legitimate - sounds like a scam

I think the way to handle a risky purchase may be to structure it somewhat like a typical real estate deal.

The purchaser could retain a lawyer or someone from a local dive shop to act as his agent to initially inspect the Rebreather and then attend the closing where the funds are handed over in exchange for the RB which is also handed over to the agent at the same time. The closing could take place at a bank where the purchaser has previously wired the funds to be available to the agent. The agent would take the RB with him and then ship it to the purchaser without any further involvement of the seller.

This procedure could be modified to suit the situation, but basically the safeguard is that the funds and the Rebreather are physically exchanged at the same time and the purchaser has an independent, reliable person acting for him. This procedure will cost, but it will take the risk out of the transaction.
__________________
If not now, when?
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2007, 04:09   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
joesympatico's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Evolution

Other Rebreather/s:
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Newmarket Ontario Canada
Posts: 29
joesympatico is an unknown quantity at this point
Cool Re: Is this legitimate - sounds like a scam

if there is ANY hint of a scam it is a scan
if it walks like a duck..............................
__________________
Always dive with a briefcase: Sharks may mistake you for an attorney and
leave you alone out of professional courtesy
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



RebreatherWorld.Com ©2005 - 2008
Rebreather World, Rebreather World and the Rebreather World Logo are Trademarks
All rights reserved, no republishing of content without written permission.
By using this website you have agreed to our Terms & Conditions of Use

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0