It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register for free click here
Rebreather World
       
Go Back Rebreather World Rebreather & Dive Equipment Marketplace ebay Rebreather Scam alerts

scam??



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19th December 2007, 20:51   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
deeper's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Not Bought Yet

Other Rebreather/s:
Not Bought Yet
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: plymuff
Posts: 28
deeper is an unknown quantity at this point
scam??

what do you think is it a scam?
Scuba Drager Dolphin Rebreather on eBay, also, Tanks, Scuba, Snorkeling, Sporting Goods (end time 22-Dec-07 01:10:04 GMT)
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2007, 17:31   #2 (permalink)
Kit
New Member
 
Kit's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Dolphin

Other Rebreather/s:
Dolphin
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 30
Kit is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: scam??

Honestly, there just is not enough evidence to be sure one way or the other. One would need to ask the seller some questions, and judge by his responses. Personally, I would be very uncomfortable about bidding on/purchasing such an expensive item from someone with such sparse and dated feedback (his only feedback is as a buyer, not a seller).

I have sent the seller some general questions. Let's wait and see if and how he responds, yes?
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2007, 18:39   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
gonediving's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Pelagian
Dolphin

Other Rebreather/s:
Inspiration Classic
Inspiration Vision
Pelagian
Dolphin
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 67
gonediving is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to gonediving
Re: scam??

Nice picture of a pressure gauge.
Is that his $750 Draeger Oxygen Gauge ?
(Online)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 01:10   #4 (permalink)
Kit
New Member
 
Kit's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Dolphin

Other Rebreather/s:
Dolphin
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 30
Kit is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: scam??

I got an answer to the question I sent him, and it seemed reasonable enough: I asked him to tell me a little about it and how he got it. He said that a friend who owned a dive shop had it on display for a couple of years, but the friend had fallen on hard times, and he was selling it on eBay for the friend. I know anybody could easily say that, but he may be on the level. I then directed him to this website, where he would more likely find a buyer, especially if the reserve on the auction is not met.

I say if he actually has the chutzpa to come to this site, give the guy a chance. If he doesn't come here, then maybe some cynicism is well-justified. Maybe some of our friends in Northern California might volunteer to take a look and verify the unit?
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 01:18   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
matttraviss's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Dolphin

Other Rebreather/s:
Dolphin
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: lafayette
Posts: 11
matttraviss is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: scam??

It is for real and if anybody would like to come and see it feel free to contact me. Plus the reserve is set at $2500 that is a steal!
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 16:06   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
gonediving's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Pelagian
Dolphin

Other Rebreather/s:
Inspiration Classic
Inspiration Vision
Pelagian
Dolphin
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 67
gonediving is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to gonediving
Re: scam??

Not convinced.
(Online)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 16:54   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
matttraviss's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Dolphin

Other Rebreather/s:
Dolphin
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: lafayette
Posts: 11
matttraviss is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: scam??

Then get on a plane and come see it... What else do I have to do to prove it to you?
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 17:28   #8 (permalink)
Bad knees, matching brain
 
Marvintpa's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Classic Kiss

Other Rebreather/s:
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 257
Marvintpa is just really niceMarvintpa is just really niceMarvintpa is just really niceMarvintpa is just really niceMarvintpa is just really niceMarvintpa is just really niceMarvintpa is just really niceMarvintpa is just really niceMarvintpa is just really niceMarvintpa is just really nice
Re: scam??

The "I'm selling this for a friend" auctions always concern me.
There are occasions when one person may give it to someone who has alot of eBay experience, which does not appear to be the case here.

People often mention the serial number, service history, reason for selling, things like that in legitimate auctions.

I'm not suggesting this auction is fraudulent, but there are things that could make it appear more genuine. Matttraviss, just to letcha know, people are very cautious about buying 'breathers off of eBay due to the *incredibly* high number of scams. It's nothing person, people are just trying to be careful and around here we tend to watch out for each other and perhaps get a little carried away from time to time.
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 19:04   #9 (permalink)
New Member
 
deeper's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Not Bought Yet

Other Rebreather/s:
Not Bought Yet
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: plymuff
Posts: 28
deeper is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: scam??

hey matt
dont take it to heart.you can look through all the posts on here and see a lot of scams on ebay.
people just get a bit suspicious including me.
you have to be carefull with your wording,you have just joined this site and in your post you have put the words "its a steal".
this can raise alarms also.the trouble is with this world,is that there a lot of people who want to get money from decent hard working people without actually earning it themselves,
i'm not saying this is the case with you.

Last edited by deeper : 21st December 2007 at 19:06.
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2007, 21:38   #10 (permalink)
New Member
 
matttraviss's Avatar

Current Rebreather/s:
Dolphin

Other Rebreather/s:
Dolphin
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: lafayette
Posts: 11
matttraviss is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: scam??

Here is my phone number (510)459-7223 give me a call! I think I have put up enough different pictures to make me creditable plus the amount of time I have put into answering questions. What else would you people like to do?
(Offline)
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.us
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



RebreatherWorld.Com ©2005 - 2008 Scuba Flair Limited
Rebreather World, Rebreather World and the Rebreather World Logo are Trademarks
All rights reserved, no republishing of content without written permission.
By using this website you have agreed to our Terms & Conditions of Use

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0